Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
الإسلام والعصر/New Epoch Islam
Publicité
Archives
Derniers commentaires
الإسلام والعصر/New Epoch Islam
الإسلام والعصر/New Epoch Islam
1 janvier 2009

I am a Muslim Wassat

I AM A MUSLIM WASSAT

 

 


I am a Muslim Wassat means :
- I am certain that Moslems have no intellectual basis for being politically successful.

- I am frightened at the sight of what's done in the name of Islam.

- I am frightened of not being able to express my Islam in Arts & literature because of those who have reduced Islam to a handful of bans.

- I have nothing after those who govern me or after the West.

- I consider that philosophers, artists and literary figures from Europe and America have taken part in educating Moslems.

- Then why should I consider abnormal the fact of keeping learning from them the tools and means allowing me to rediscover my rapport to Islam.

- I will learn from them as well as from those who, among the Moslems, have learnt from them.

- I consider that Islam/Text ( & Sunna) has always been clear and neat.

- Then I am undignified to hear of attempts to impose Islam on people. But I am happy to hear of attempts to reinterpret Islam providing that what is meant by reinterpretation is that of Islamic thought /experience /religiosity. Else, one can't correct falseness with falseness.

- In other words, as a Median Moslem (Muslim Wassat),what does require change is our attitude towards the Holy Text.

- I consider that attitude to be faulty and it is not a new (traditionalist) reading /interpretation of the Text that will adjust it for me.

- That attitude is wrong because Moslems have always, for ages, neglected the experimental( empirical ) side to Islam, thus remaining enslaved to the theoretical one, which never gets practice to develop.

- I believe that Moslems should have a contemporary model of an experience so they could get inspired from it . A model of a 21st -century form of a Moslem's existence.
A generic version, not of Islam ( take heed!), but of a Moslem's ideal/idealistic experience : the Median Culture.

- I suppose and I hope that this kind of intellectual basis called Median Culture , shaped at the crossroads faith/daily reality, once developed, it will ensure the link ( disrupted during the decadence centuries ) between Moslems on one side & Islam /Text on the other side.
Hence its name "Median", valid for a Muslim Wassat.

 

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité